Picks of the Day: CBB and NBA 2/7

9-16 yesterday. 34-30-1 on the week.

Listen, I’m not gonna complain today. I’m not gonna complain about Denver inexplicably dominating a rebound battle. Or Alabama being up 24 with 10 minutes to go and winning by only 9. Or a poor shooting South Carolina team making 12-21 threes on the road against a top 10 Texas A&M defense. Or SDSU and New Mexico going to overtime to screw my under. Or Valpo being up 20 at half only to lose the second half by 2. Or Vandy having three starters foul out, two of them in a combined 33 minutes of playing time. Or Wichita State being up 16 in the second half only to lose the game even though Illinois State shot 27% from the field, but made 84% of their free throws even though they’re shooting 65% on the year.

I’m not gonna complain about any of that because I’m above that type of activity. I just have to accept the fact that whatever can go wrong on a Saturday, will go wrong. That’s just my life. I lose a lot of money on Saturdays now. +45 on 48 days, -19 on the other 3 days. This is fine.

(I know I just did the thing where I said I wasn’t gonna complain while I actually complained about everything, but I swear I’ll quit bitching about losses if Bryce Molder wins the Phoenix Open this week for me at +30000. Only four shots back. I know he’s gonna shoot 75 today, but a man can dream.)

CBB

East Carolina (+10) over UCONN 1st Half
Shonn Miller over 19 Points and Rebounds
Daniel Hamilton over 24.5 Points, Rebounds, and Assists

Since ECU has played their last game last Saturday, UConn has had to play twice and both of them were on the road. The Pirates have also been playing pretty well lately with wins at Memphis and Temple at home. They also took Houston to double OT. I like Miller and Hamilton to both get a lot of rebounds against ECU’s zone defense. Miller is the Huskies leading scorer and he’s very steady, scoring at least 11 in every conference game. In UConn’s two games against ECU last year, Hamilton had totals of 25 and 31.

Iowa (-9.5) over ILLINOIS

The Illini’s offense has fallen off a cliff in Big Ten play and they can’t defend the three. That’s a bad combo against Iowa. They also almost just lost to Rutgers. RUTGERS.

OREGON (-6.5) over Utah

I love Oregon and I think they’re undervalued, which I explained with my future bet the other day. By the way at the book I made that bet, they’ve gone from +8000 to +2800 in four days. They crushed Utah in Salt Lake City last month.

NBA

I’m parlaying or teasing all the unders. Super Bowl Sunday has a similar effect to Christmas Day. +1000 and +200.


CBB YTD: 142-137-9 (50.9%)

NBA YTD: 68-47-1 (59.1%)

Total YTD: 210-184-10 (53.3%)

Above .500 days: 23

.500 days: 14

Below .500 days: 14

Leave a Reply

