CBB Picks: 1/8

As bad as yesterday felt, the final tally was 7-9-1. For Saturday standards? Not that bad, especially considering two losses were by a half point. If you’re new, Saturday was a constant battle last year. I think I went something like -30u on Saturdays and +50u on the other six days combined. I don’t know what it is. I’d just skip them, but there’s like 130 games every time and I’m not just gonna pass that up. Seems like the early games always go shitty and then the night games are alright.

I don’t know. I’m doing self-therapy right now. I’m sorry if you were following along and quit when the unit count was 2-9. 7 pm EST and beyond was our time.

And at the end of the day, at least I didn’t have New Mexico. Holy shit, if you went to bed or were out being popular, go back and watch the last three minutes of regulation and overtime. Just the worst beat of all time if you were on the Lobos.

GEORGE WASHINGTON (-4) over Richmond

Richmond’s front court is decimated without Grant Golden and Marshall Wood. I don’t know when Wood is coming back from mono, but that’s not an easy recovery. Their absence is big – no pun intended – against GW’s front line. Turnovers are a big lean for the Spiders, but rebounds are a big lean for the Colonials, so I consider it a wash. I keep waiting for TJ Cline to either start making perimeter shots or stop taking them, but neither appears imminent.

VALPO (-18) over Detroit

Large spread, but the I like the Crusaders coming off a home loss against a great slump-buster in Detroit. I’m guessing Jaleel Hogan is gonna guard Alec Peters. Hogan is a good defender, but I’m betting he gets in foul trouble trying to lock down Peters and they’ve got nothing after him. Outside of that, Valpo will live at the line and dominate on the glass. Valpo has a turnover problem, but that’s nullified because the Titans have a similar problem.

NORTHERN IOWA (+10.5) over Wichita State

I still don’t totally trust the Shockers, especially away from home. UNI is struggling, but their backs are against the wall and I feel like they’re going to show up against Wichita at home. I also feel like they’re going to make enough shots against the Shockers to stay in this game. The key is that they limit the same on the other end. They’re down this year, but they’ve played Wichita as tough as anybody in the MVC recently.

UCF (+1.5) over UCONN

The Huskies offense is just so bad right now. I don’t think they’re going to figure it out against the Knights zone defense that continues to frustrate people. The ECU game went sideways in the second half for us, but they’ll be good on the glass and I don’t think their turnovers will be as big of a deal. Their offense will only get better and better as BJ Taylor comes back.

Season: 51-47-1 (52.0%)

Leave a Reply

